Do paid orders always have to go to "suspended" after exceeding the time limit for payment?

Do paid orders always have to go to "suspended" after exceeding the time limit for payment?

No, they don't have to.

If you log in to your profile, go to Settings, and select the “Automatically Proceed On Late Payment” button, the system will automatically confirm the up-to-date exchange rate and the order will be ready for processing.